How Will You Measure Your Life?

Do What You Love – Tom Kelly:

I loved the three categories Kelly brought out from “Good to Great”, namely: what are you good at, what are you born to do, and what will others pay you to do. As I consider each of these I think back to the stars and stepping stones activity where I wrote out my strengths and passions. Fortunately, there are many categories that I am both passionate about and excel in. I also really loved the suggestion to keep a personal journal/record of the things I do when I am happiest. I taught a class in doTERRA the other night and I realized how thrilled and energized I felt afterwards. I know that I am an extrovert so I am energized by people, plus I love to teach and empower others to care for themselves. I believe that I will work most effectively doing something I love and I am grateful that what I love is highly beneficial to others; I am confident the direction I am going is something others would pay me for. I have met with parents and heard from them their frustrations with providing a quality, engaging education for their children and I know they are searching for a solution. I am committed to providing them with a “menu” of alternative options and aiding them in identifying what works best for their family and each individual child.

Effective Choices, Not Longer Days – Jeff Hawkins:

This little excerpt reminded me of “Essentialism” by Greg McKeweon. When he came to visit our mission I had such a clear vision of his message: more is not always better. It’s not about doing more, it’s about doing less BETTER. He discussed the art of delegation and how being busy isn’t a trademark of a successful person; being busy can also be a result of lack of organization in personal/work/home life and responsibilities. How do I balance my time? Do I practice self control and moderation in all things, as well as allowing for spontaneity and adjustments? If I had one day without school or work responsibilities how would I spend my time?

How Will You Measure Your Life – Clayton Christensen: “If your attitude is that only smarter people have something to teach you, your learning opportunities will be very limited. But if you have a humble eagerness to learn something from everybody, your learning opportunities will be unlimited. Generally, you can be humble only if you feel really good about yourself—and you want to help those around you feel really good about themselves, too…don’t worry about the level of individual prominence you have achieved; worry about the individuals you have helped become better people.”

Leave a Reply

