Becoming a Changemaker

Microlending: Toward a Poverty Free World – Muhammad Yunus
This article really stood out to me. I agree with Yunus’ final points about dreaming and believing in change. One of the aspects that stood out to me the most was Yunus’ confidence in the goodness of human character. He was willing to invest personal funds into the betterment of a community. He changed lives as a result. This example leads me to ask of myself how my contributions are changing lives. How do I impact those that are around me? What can I do about the poor and the needy and hungry? As I progress in my business ventures how can I give back as part of my ministry of business formula for eternal success?

Sarah Endline:
The quote that stood out to me the most from this video was about culture VS company. I love how Sarah differentiated and pointed out that you can design a culture that is specifically tailored to your moral beliefs and passions when you’re an entrepreneur. This realization leads me to consider how I am developing my moral beliefs and passions to be for the greater good of myself, my family, my community, and the world.

Entrepreneurship and Consecration – Elder Gay:
This talk has truly helped me to understand my life’s mission in regards to entrepreneurship and business. As I listened I considered my motives behind success. Why do I want to succeed? What will I do when I do succeed? As Blake & I made our vision boards last week I realized that I want know what I’ll do when I get where I’m going. I want to know how I’m going to sacrifice and fulfill my temple covenants of consecration along the way. Have I sacrificed aspects of my relationship with God for my relationship with my husband? How must my Father in Heaven feel about that transition? I believe He understands and He knows my heart…but I also believe He wants His children to progress and be eternally happy and He knows the formula to get there. I must give myself to Him and to His work. What does that mean? What does that look like for my daily schedule? As I listened to Elder Gay speak of the refugee and her experience I reflected on her level of dedication to liberty and her courage. Is it possible for me to have that same degree of courage when I am confident where my next meal is coming from and I sit warmly in my home? What must change in my heart to help me see as if our situations were similar, although they are worlds apart? I believe this is the gift of charity. This gift must be sought after diligently in faithful prayer as well as in actions that cultivate it. I desire to do good so that I may sow the seeds that will blossom into an even greater desire to do good. I want to weed and till and protect my garden – my life, my plot of ground that I can give all I have and all that I am to cultivate in the Master Gardener’s hands. It is my prayer that I will learn to love being cut down, uprooted, transplanted, and grafted. It is my desire to give myself and the fruits of all He gives me…to Him; it is my desire to bloom where I am planted.

Virtue and integrity are vital to an economy because they enable the core attribute of trust within franchises, businesses, investments, etc. This attribute of trust is also relevant because businesses are built by human beings for human beings and there is an innate need for a certain degree of trust for individuals to be able to function comfortably. This level of “comfort” determines entrepreneurial endeavors made and contribution of  a community to the small and large businesses surrounding the individuals who reside in homes.

This question was hard for me to identify, but according to my understanding, Handy is speaking of the humanization of business. He refers to the trust that individuals and companies have in stock, rather than in the attributes and “machinery” that comprise the production and functionality of the business. He speaks of possible dishonesty and exaggeration to please share holders and increase stock purchase in even a failing company, both logistically and ethically. At the same time Handy refers to how businesses are less and less mechanical, he also points out that employees are technically “owned” by the business by which they are employed, which leads to a DEhuminization of business.

I agree with Handy’s statement about it only being fair that the skills of an individual be weighted equally with the monetary assets of an individual. I believe that as the respect for employees improves that the integrity of companies will improve, almost like building trust within the structure before outsourcing to increase monetary gain of a shake internal structure. I also agree with Handy’s statement that doing good does not necessarily rule out gaining a reasonably large profit. Because my perspective is religiously based I believe that doing good holds the potential for exponential and sometimes unexplained prosperity.

Leave a Reply

