Celebrate Your Life

The title of this post is so appropriate! There’s so much in life to celebrate! As I’ve considered what I would share with the world as my last lecture, I have identified a few principles that I am passionate about as well as a few lessons I’m still working on internalizing. I apologize if this is a secular lecture because I will be unable to present my thoughts without including my belief in God and Jesus Christ; this belief has made me who I am today and I have confidence that my faith will continue to shape my future.

“The grass is always greener on the other side.” – a phrase we’ve all heard time and time again. But what does it mean? I suppose it could mean something different for each person, but I’ve gleaned great clarity from this simple line. As I’ve considered in my life times where I’ve thought the grass sure looked greener on the other side I’ve realized that the problem isn’t really with the color of the grass at all, but rather the problem is ME! It’s all in my perspective. I’ve realized that at times I am colorblind to the beauty of my current situation. In my experience it can be precariously easy to slip into a mentality that life would be so much better if only…(fill in the blank). If you’re married life would probably be better single, whereas if you’re single life is most certainly better with a marriage partner. Not to mention the woes of child-bearing and child-rearing with a seemingly endless stream of sleepless nights and the constant financial strain. Wouldn’t life be just a little bit more enjoyable without temper tantrums and back-talking teenagers? And yet, on the other side of the fence lies the heart-wrenching doctors visit where you’re told you will never be able to conceive a child; struggles with unwelcome spite towards couples who are able to have children easily, and sleepless nights spent in the dark recesses of depression and unrealized hopes and dreams. The point I’m trying to make? The grass is never greener on the other side. YOU are responsible for the health and prosperity of the grass right below your own two feet. If I were to share with the world something I’ve learned it would be to fertilize your own grass, while also appreciating and being able to praise the lawns of those around you. Everyone has their own weeds to pull. Strive to love your life just the way it is while still exerting continuous effort to improve, tidy up, and fertilize. Be cautious of a mentality of scarcity. Be content with where you are and who you are, as well as where you’ve been and who you are becoming.

A part of this assignment is to share my thoughts for entrepreneurs. Interestingly enough I don’t have unique words for entrepreneurs as opposed to those working in a factory or a multi-level-marketing structure. I believe we are all entrepreneurs of at least one major endeavor: our life’s work. Aside from the emphasis on business, I believe the principles that are shared throughout this class are applicable to every person. Everyone would benefit from creating ethical guardrails and personal constitutions. The world would be a better place if we each rose early and had a heartfelt desire to give back with what we receive. I have a personal gratitude for the principle of rising early, and I would even go so far as to say that my life has been changed in the few extra hours I rise before the sun. And so, another point I would share with the world that means something to me would be that you are the author of your own story. I’ve learned about how to better take responsibility for what I have been given and to increase my desire and capacity to give back. I believe that it is the personal responsibility of every person to develop principles of mastery in their life, regardless of their chosen profession of life’s work. The lessons offered and presented in this class are applicable to all.

My final advice from this class and my own life experiences would be to strive to develop a heart for the process of mastery. Learn to love practice and appreciate plateaus. Find joy in both the ups AND the downs. Connect with God, your divine Creator and Father, and speak with Him freely and often. He loves you more than anyone you know and seeks to guide you towards eternal happiness and progression. Be resilient through rejection and choose faith in the face of defeat. Say thank you to your parents, the man who holds the door at the grocery store, and your Father in Heaven. Develop and attitude of gratitude and strive in prayer and deed to live with the attitude of “Come What May and Love It” as Joseph B Wirthlin did, a man a greatly admire and appreciate. Choose to see your grass as green as you take time to care for it. Be the co-creator of your own life as you ultimately trust in God, the Creator of all things. Strive for mastery and learn to love the process…the best is not yet to come – it is now.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

