B283 – Lesson 2

This week has been a total whirlwind! My husband, Blake, and I have moved into a new apartment in downtown Atlanta where he is attending GA Tech. I have started my first full week of online classes taking 17 credits, which I’ve never done as an online student before! Somehow this transition has taught me much about entrepreneurship and who I want to become. I’ve been able to set goals with the new year and work diligently in various aspects of life to accomplish those goals. I have also learned about time management and planning with balancing my classes. We don’t have a car, so I have had to become acquainted with my surroundings and become “street-savvy” in a new and somewhat intimidating place. Each of these life experiences can be applied to my journey as a business person. I have found in my past experience that setting and accomplishing goals, managing time and schedules, and learning to adapt to new environments are all useful traits I’ve needed for experiences I’ve had while managing my own business. I’ve read in the book I’m studying this week about how to grow myself personally to be prepared to get where I want to go and reading about that has allowed for me to see so many opportunities where that is already happening in my daily life. Each day and each new experience can be applied to help me achieve my greater goals of making a difference in the world and helping to financially support my family now and in the future.

One aspect of this class I have felt apprehensive about is that of our $100.00 project. Being in a new place without a car makes me feel intimidated and limited in my abilities to start a business. I have limited resources financially and in regards to my time, but because of these limitations I feel that this experience will be extra-beneficial. I still don’t know what I am going to do for sure, but I have brainstormed a few ideas and I am looking forward to the lessons I will learn as I embark on a challenging adventure. I’m looking forward to this class helping me develop new skills and abilities as well as increasing my knowledge of what it takes to run a small business. I’ve learned so much already! I especially liked something I learned from Guy Kawasaki’s blog called the 4 P’s: people, product, partnerships, perseverance. I like Kawasaki’s way of writing and look forward to following his blog this semester.

Leave a Reply

