B283 – Week 10

United in Building the Kingdom of God – L. Tom Perry:
I really love this message! I think the following is a really powerful paragraph:
“The important point is that the Lord condemns both the preoccupation with worldly possessions and the lack of occupation with building His kingdom, whether it is a consequence of having too much or too little.” I have absolutely seen that pride is found in comparison, whether it be you have more than others or less than others. I appreciate the distinction that is made between being prosperous PRIDEFULLY and being prosperous when you will seek to bless and build the kingdom of God. Another quote that really stood out to me is “The Lord is not telling us that we should not be prosperous. This would be inconsistent with the many records we have of Him blessing His people with prosperity. But He is telling us that we should seek prosperity only after we have sought and found Him. Then, because our hearts are right, because we love Him first and foremost, we will choose to invest the riches we obtain in building His kingdom.” Elder Perry challenges us to live more in service to our brothers and sisters. I plan to take this challenge to heart and do all I can to love and serve those around me.

Entrepreneur Blog:
The blog that I read highlighted the importance of studying entrepreneurship. Whether it be in school or through your own diligent learning, the blog article mentioned how essential a working knowledge of marketing, accounting, leadership, innovation and design, and time management are when creating a company. If you do get a degree in management, an MBA is recommended. Another suggestion was to continue reading from business and entrepreneurship books throughout your journey. Continual learning will foster continual improvement and growth, which will bless both your business journey as well as your personal development and journey.

Tips for the Entrepreneur:
Don’t Settle. Have the right people involved! Don’t rush the process. Have a clear idea of what you’re looking for so you can be sure they will benefit the team. Continually work on becoming an expert in every area. “Have a healthy disregard for the impossible.” Don’t be so specific in your goals – it will limit your resources. Have an idea of where you’re going and let additional ways of getting there come up. Don’t start a company because the space is hot. Recognize a need and only enter the market if you can do it better than everyone else or add a unique insight. Take a few years to better understand and invest in the area of your business before getting hundreds of people to follow you.

Entrepreneurs Then and Now – Guy Kawasaki:
Kawasaki’s Law: Take every full-time engineer, engineer worth half a million dollars. Take every MBA subtract 1/4 million dollars. (pre-money valuation). The old focus was on advertising. NOW we focus on PR – getting other people to talk about you instead of talking about yourself. Prove your model local before you think about expanding. Times are changing and if you can’t understand and keep up with the changes your business can never be up & coming and successful. Be relevant.

$100 Project:
I have enjoyed my work this week with my project. I am still far from my goal, but I have started spreading the word about my mothers helper business and people seem to be interested. This week I had the opportunity to babysit for a family I’ve never worked with before. It was great to feel my marketing and word-of-mouth advertising is helping! This week I earned $60 towards my project. Hooray! I’m glad I picked something I’m passionate about and enjoy. It feels like a win-win as I help overworked moms and also move my business forward.

Leave a Reply

